How did Tia Lola come to stay? I will tell you in my letter to Jen!

Dear Jen,

Thank you for being so patient with me! I am finally getting a chance to sit down and write to you and I am so excited about the book we just read! It was a wonderful novel! Before we begin discussing the book, I wanted to answer a few of your questions from your last letter. I have a relatively small family; it’s Mom, Dad, and my older brother, John. I do not have any pets, but I used to have a cute golden retriever! My hobbies including playing soccer, playing the guitar, and spending time with friends. I also love music! It sounds like we have a lot in common! Feel free to write me anytime and ask any more questions about me/the book!

I LOVED this book. At first I wasn’t sure that I would understand it because I don’t speak Spanish or understand Spanish traditions, but the story line was very easy to follow! There are few questions I am still thinking about. They are: Why did Miguel initially want Tia Lola to be top-secret and why/when did he change his mind? Also, how does his understanding of family change by the end of the book? I thought those were very important lessons to get out of the novel. Lastly, I loved the ways that Tia Lola brought her Dominican culture to Vermont! I think she really helped put life in perspective for Miguel and his sister. What do you think? Do you think Tia Lola’s character was more child-like or more motherly? Did she set a good example for the kids?

My favorite part was when Miguel and his sister realized how much they cared about Tia Lola when they lost her in New York City on page 77. That really showed how much Miguel valued family! Also, on page 50, I thought it was so funny when Miguel thought Tia Lola’s food brought good luck! Imagine if that was true! How did his realization (that she wasn’t just lucky) change his relationship with Tia Lola? What did this teach him about her culture? This was when Miguel realized that the Spanish culture was different than his own and that in order to communicate with Tia Lola, he needed to learn Spanish. I’m curious if you think that him learning Spanish was a good idea and how it changed their relationship!

Overall, it is clear that Tia Lola’s visit was beneficial to Miguel and his family. I’m so glad she decided to stay and make the most of her time in America.

I can’t wait to hear what you think about the book! I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did! Feel free to ask my any questions that you come up with while reading my letter!

Write back soon!
DEMI

Leave a Reply

